Growing Parsley and Basil on the Roof

March 2, 2008 at 7:59 pm 2 comments

It’s resolved. I’m going to ask Mike, the super in my building, if I can put a planter on the roof, so I can grow basil and parsley.  I’ve always wanted to grow them in my apartment, but having only western exposure, I’m told they wouldn’t do very well.  I hope Mike says I can.  I’m tired of buying big bunches of parsley and basil at the supermarket when all I need is a sprig or two. Actually my real desire was to join a community garden and tend a little plot of say tomatoes, flowers, herbs, maybe peppers, but since there aren’t any community gardens in my neighborhood, the roof of my building will have to do. 

There was a time when community gardens played a big role in local food production. During World War II, the “Victory Garden” movement produced nearly 40% of the produce consumed in the U.S., according to a post Slow Food Blog. The post notes that today we buy more than 99% of the food we eat.

Though I don’t think we’re ready to revert to an agrarian economy, it’s nice to get back, or at least recall, our roots (yes, the pun was intended).  There’s something satisfying about watching something grow and working for the food we eat, even if it’s just  parsley and basil. 

I’ll let you know what Mike says.

 

Entry filed under: Local Food Production. Tags: , .

Food for Thought The Lilacs Are Back

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Twitter: Recent Tweets


