Still Dreamin’ of Rooftop Herbs

June 3, 2008 at 1:23 am 5 comments

Remember my post on March 2?  I was going to ask Mike, the super, if I could plant basil and parsley on the roof.  Well, I did.  Long story short, my request was denied.  I had to take it to the board of my co-op building, who after deliberating the matter at one of their monthly meetings worried that other people would want to do the same and eventually sully the look of our beautiful roof deck.   But I was not to despair.  They said they’d look at ways that they might accommodate other aspiring rooftop gardeners. 

At least there’s hope.  I think of all the great things that could come out of being able to grow a few herbs on the roof.  Bragging rights, for one.  When someone tells me that they get their parsley from such and such farm, I can best them and say that I get mine from my roof.  How much more local can one get? 

I think of all possibilities for neighborliness.  I’d offer my basil and parsley to friends in the building.  And if other people started growing other herbs, we’d have a full stable of fresh ingredients for our kitchens. 

I know I’d experiment a whole lot more with my cooking if I had fresh herbs at hand.  I’d consider trying all those recipes that call for just a few tablespoon’s worth of parsley, like chicken saltimbocca and lentil soup. 

What most appeals to me is not having to buy the herbs at the supermarket.  As I said in my earlier post, I rarely need more than a sprig of parsley or a leaf or two of basil for the cooking I do.  I hate to see whole bunches of the herbs go to waste in the frig.  I really do.  I don’t like to think of myself as taking more from the Earth than I know I’ll need.  We should go easy on Her. 

Oh, to think what a few herb boxes on the roof could do for the environmental problems of the world!

Entry filed under: Local Food Production. Tags: , , .

The Lilacs Are Back Beyond Herb Boxes on the Roof

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Home Greenhouses  |  July 16, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Do you not have a window with lots of sun? Herbs can grow very well indooors. I purchased a window sill greenhouse but you can use small 4 inch pots too.

    Why not take a stab at it and let us know how you make out. If you just need small amount of herbs at a time this is a great way to get them.

    All the best to you,
    Chris

  • 2. mcorreia  |  July 17, 2008 at 12:21 am

    Thanks, Chris. I don’t have a window that’s sunny year-round, but I’ll give it a try anyway. In the summertime, my windows get good light through the evening, so maybe I should try growing in the summer only. Thanks for writing and all the best to you too.

  • 3. Bronx Babe  |  July 19, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    A roof deck? As in, an actual, official one, created by the landlord in order to jack up the rent? Goes together perfectly with the eco-snobbiness.

    As for me, like many living in this city, I’ve got a beautiful tar roof that absolutely nobody has thought of doing anything to pretty up. I’m going to plant some delicious herbs on it, and if that works out maybe I’ll graduate to actual vegetables. I’m not going to ask the super for permission, because as far as I can tell the super is never there.

  • 4. mcorreia  |  July 21, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Hey Bronx Babe,
    Good luck with your plantings. It’s sweet not having a super to worry about!

  • 5. The Joys of a Rosemary Bush « New York Bounty  |  December 20, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    […] 20, 2008 Even though my hopes of growing parsley and basil on the roof were dashed this summer, I never quite gave up on the idea of having my own herbs at home.  Last […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Twitter: Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


