Too Much of a Good Thing

July 16, 2008 at 2:09 am 2 comments

Sometimes there can be too much of good thing. As I mentioned in my last post, two weeks ago I bought a huge bunch of kale for $2 from an urban gardener in East New York, Brooklyn.  It was more than I could possibly eat in a week.  Jeanette Ware, the gardener, offered a suggestion:  “You can freeze it,” she said. 

“Freezing?  Now there’s an idea,” I thought. 

Jeanette explained that I should blanch the kale and then run it through cold water with ice.  I did exactly as she said, and it worked out well for me.  Today I ate the frozen kale, and it tasted as good as the fresh batch I’d eaten a week earlier.

Freezing will now be a solution whenever I waver about buying any of the bunched vegetables for fear that it will be too much.  I’m not sure that it would work as well for the more delicate leafy greens – like spinach or Swiss chard – or things like watercress and parsley.  I suppose I can give it a try, and if freezing freezes the life out of delicates greens, I guess there’s always the compost bin. 

[BTW, if anyone out there has any experience with freezing the delicate leafy stuff, please write in and let us know whether it works. I’d love to hear from you.]

Entry filed under: Local Food Production, Urban Agriculture. Tags: , , , , .

City Gardeners Grow for Themselves and Others Too Much of a Good Thing Revisited

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. johnvturner  |  July 16, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Spinach freezes well, I’d imagine Swiss chard does too (this is the first year I’m growing it so I won’t know for sure until this winter!)

    I never tried freezing watercress or parsley, but basil freezes well. I’ve heard of people freezing parsley in water: they’ll mince it and place it in water in an ice-cube tray and then simply add that into whatever recipe it’s called for (ie chicken soup). I still haven’t gotten around to trying this myself as I seem to finish off all the parsley I grow.

  • 2. mcorreia  |  July 17, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I love the parsley-in-the-ice-cube idea. I like it so much I’m going to do a brief post about it. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Twitter: Recent Tweets


